• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

The R. L. Stevenson Route GR70

kayagee66

Time of past OR future Camino
Camino Frances (2016)
Le Puy - Roncesvalles (2016)
Figeac - Cahors (2017)
Stevenson Trail (2018
Can any members who have walked the Stevenson route help?
Has anyone walked this route without booking accommodation before starting? I want to walk this route in September, the last 2 weeks. And would like to book accommodation the day before i arrive. Or on the day i walk.
Can i get away with this? I don't fancy planning all my accommodation before i even leave my house.

Join our full-service guided tour of the Basque Country and let us pamper you!
Don't mean to sidetrack this thread as I have no experience with the actual RLS route but I want to recommend Stevenson's book Travels with a Donkey in the Cevennes.
to anyone contemplating, as I am, their first long walk in a foreign country. It's a very short read but it will, briefly at least, take the reader out of the airplane/train/bus reservations, packing decisions and check lists of a full scale assault on Santiago and initiate a reflection on the actual experience of walking.
I wrote a brief review of the book on Goodreads here.

HTH,

-Jason

Ideal pocket guides for during & after your Camino. Each weighs only 1.4 oz (40g)!
I've always thought RLS's description of the Trappist monks,
their contemplative silence and austere monastery to be particularly astute and evocative.

"A stern simplicity, heightened by the romance of the
surroundings, spoke directly to the heart. I recall the whitewashed
chapel, the hooded figures in the choir, the lights alternately occluded
and revealed, the strong manly singing, the silence that ensued, the
sight of cowled heads bowed in prayer, and then the clear trenchant