• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Too early?

Nchansen

Time of past OR future Camino
Walking my first camino July 2013.
Hello.
I'd like to introduce myself first.
My name is nicco. I'm a 23 years old soldier from Denmark.
In February 2014 I'm going to Afghanistan. Therefore I have decided to walk my first camino in July 2013. But I have a few doubts.

I have this plan to not bring my phone. I want to isolate myself totally from normally stressed life.
But could this give me some problems?

I have decided to walk el camino frances. Starting in SJPDP and end in Santiago 4 weeks later. But is that to fast? Would it stress me to know that I have to walk 30 km a day? Will It ruin my journey?

At last. I have been reading a lot of posts at this forum. I an see that most people are like 40 years old an up. Is there a chance that I'm too young and not ready? I hope not, cause I don't think I can wait.

Thanks a lot.
Nicco

The one from Galicia (the round) and the one from Castilla & Leon. Individually numbered and made by the same people that make the ones you see on your walk.
The first edition came out in 2003 and has become the go-to-guide for many pilgrims over the years. It is shipping with a Pilgrim Passport (Credential) from the cathedral in Santiago de Compostela.
No isolation on the camino, especially in July. many people around you, especially towards Santiago. While walking you will be able to be "alone" ; it's hard not to shar the Camino with many others around you.
4 weeks to Santiago is a bit tight, 32 days is enough to enjoy the experience.