• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Total Newbie: A couple of questions

IntrepidTortoise

Time of past OR future Camino
Total Newbie: First Camino planned for October 2nd Through to November 10th 2015
Hi guys,

I am soon to be setting out on my first ever Camino! I am a little nervous (as I travel alone) but mainly excited (as I have heard such good things about the people and the path) as the departure date looms ever closer, I hope to be walking by the 2nd of October.

My main question: as I arrive in Biarritz latish around 5pm I aim to get the train to St. Jean and spend the first night there before setting off early in the morning of the 2nd. What I would like to know is how easy it is to secure accommodation on the day? Is it possible to just arrive and find and alburgue or would it be more prudent to book a place in advance?

Second question(s): I am starting in October and aim to be finished early November, can anyone with experience tell me what the weather is most likely to be like and what best to pack clothing wise. Also how many of the alburgue's/refugio's will still be open? I have heard they tend to close up for the winters months..

Anyway I hope to gain a lot and hopefully give something back on this journey and look forward to meeting some fellow pilgrims/travellers along the way.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

IntrepidTurtle

The one from Galicia (the round) and the one from Castilla & Leon. Individually numbered and made by the same people that make the ones you see on your walk.
Welcome to the Forum!