• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Trail Magic

Time of past OR future Camino
September 29 - October 9, 2015
"Trail magic" is a phenomenon talked about a lot on the A.T. which my son hiked this year. They talk about the many kindnesses hikers experience just when they need it on the Trail. I'm new to the Camino community so I don't know how it's referred to in Camino discussions. I've read many accounts of unexpected kindnesses that folks walking the Camino experience and they sound like what my son talks about on the A.T.

My story from yesterday: I'm in training (not enough) for starting the route from Sarria on September 30. At age 67 and not in great shape, I've been walking around the neighborhood trying to prepare. Yesterday, I set off for a mile walk around the neighborhood, and half way through my walk, I started to have a headache and not feeling well. I experienced dehydration on an earlier walk, so I recognized the symptoms. Then I realized I forgot to bring water. I leaned up against a telephone pole and began thinking about whether to finish the walk, or to return home. As soon as my head rested on the pole, I heard a voice yell out, "Do you need water?" I had to look around because I had no idea where the voice came from. Then I saw my elderly neighbor (who I didn't know) - long story short - he went into his house, came out and gave me a bottle of water. I told him I am in training for El Camino and explained what that means, he shared that his daughter is doing a pilgrimage in Czechoslovakia to some sight where the Blessed Mother appeared to some children.

I thought the experience was really interesting and thought I'd share the story.