• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Trail snacks

S

Sojourner47

Hi all, what do you eat during the walking day?
I'm only a beginner, but on my recent CI, I lived on tomatoes,oranges and chocolate digestive biscuits (!) whilst walking. I eat the toms and fruit at home, but the CD biscuits are something of a luxury normally, but walking uses up the excess cals.....(the biscuits were readily available in all the small shops, hence my reliance on them...) :mrgreen:

3rd Edition. More content, training & pack guides avoid common mistakes, bed bugs etc
It all depends on if i managed to get to a shop the night before, if i do then i usually pack a couple of oranges, red grapes, a big bar of dark chocolate(minimum 70% cocoa), some dried mixed nuts and 2 litres of water :D . If ive not been a good diligent peregrino then expect me to eat and drink on the way at various stops, this includes cafe grande con leche embasso, various breakfast pastries, crossiants with ham and cheese, Kas d' limon, the occassional cerveza,especially if i spot them selling Estrella Galicia and the tapas that sometimes accompany the cerveza(s) :oops:

ah food...
my favourite was when the hospitalero offered to make a monster sandwich of cheese, ham, tomato
of the most delicious freshly baked bread
and often packed in a small box juice
but best of all was walking in autumn/fall on the vdlp when harvesting was on
there was fruit everywhere
nuts
grapes
pears
berries
picking up the fallen fruit was like a gift from above
always a surprise and well appreciated

St James' Way - Self-guided 4-7 day Walking Packages, Reading to Southampton, 110 kms