• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Translating Miam Miam Dodo...

biloute

Time of past OR future Camino
Chemin du Puy & Camino Francés (summer 2014), Chemin du Puy & Camino Francés (possible summer 2019)
Since the Miam Miam Dodo books are only available in French, and a lot of people love them, I thought I'd try my hand at translating. I've never done this kind of thing before, so I'm no professional, but assuming I finish the translations we'd have another resource for the Camino available to more people than just francophones (hopefully legally, since I'm unaware of anyone else doing a translation and theoretically the publishers/authors might be interested in it).

I'm mostly just doing this for fun, and for an exercise in maintaining my French. And since I've never studied translation, I figured I'll post here for advice sometimes on words or phrases within the context of the Camino, inquiring of the "experts" that reside on this forum since the WordReference forum people might not understand how things are being used in reference to the Camino.

First question is about Santiago de Compostela itself. I'm currently working on the "mode d'emploi" for Miam Miam Dodo as it's the most current (recently purchased) book I have in the series. It says that the historic heart of the city is "bati en solide granit" (sorry, don't know how to do accents on this particular borrowed laptop). I'm wondering if this means that the buildings themselves are constructed of granite or if I should just say that the city is constructed ON solid granite, since I believe that is the geology of the area. I've only done the Camino once and I'm not familiar with the construction of the historic city center.

The focus is on reducing the risk of failure through being well prepared. 2nd ed.