• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Transport from Santander to Ferrol?

Kenneth Judd

Time of past OR future Camino
None in the past - only the Camino Ingles planned
Hello everyone - total Camino newbie here. I'm planning to start the Camino Ingles from Ferrol on or about September 30th. I live in Colorado USA but I will be in the UK visiting family before heading out to Spain. I want to fly to Santander and then go by train or bus over to Ferrol mainly because I want to see that part of Spain. My question is what is the best way to get from Santander to Ferrol? And how much time should I expect it to take?

I'm very excited about my upcoming Camino and I have already bought two guidebooks and the Peregrino Credential. I've also been training regularly (I'm 73). Thank you all very much for any advice in advance!

St James' Way - Self-guided 4-7 day Walking Packages, Reading to Southampton, 110 kms
Kenneth Judd,

Welcome to the forum!
You future trip sounds great. Tap this
Rome2Rio link for various transport possibilitie for your trip. Tap each possibility for more info.

Happy planning and Carpe diem.

Last edited:
Hi @Kenneth Judd ,
If you have time, take the FEVE - https://www.iberian-escapes.com/slow-train-travel-in-northern-spain.html also this https://www.roughguides.com/spain/cantabria-and-asturias/the-feve-railway/ - just a couple of many articles if you do a search on Feve Spain. A few years ago I took it from Oviedo (before dawn in the Fall) to Ferrol (mid- to late-afternoon). BUT, it's comfortable, slow, stops at every little place - the locals use it - it consists of one or two cars, a clean toilet, but no food - so take a picnic and beverages. The scenery is wonderful...