• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Trekking Pole Suggestions

jgiesbrecht

Time of past OR future Camino
Camino Frances, Fisterra, Muxia Sept-Oct 2020
I know everyone loves discussing trekking poles!! But seriously, I plan on walking from SJPDP hopefully all the way to Finisterre and Muxia this upcoming March/April. I am new to walking/hiking....but I do know I plan on using poles. Part of my reasoning is that when I walk more than about 5k my hands swell, so I want something to keep my hands moving. I bought a pretty cheap one online just for now while walking at home but I know it is actually a bit too long for me even in it's shortest position. I am 5'4 and live in Ontario. I am willing to order online if someone has a really good recommendation. I want to purchase them beforehand so I can get use to walking with them, and I have already purchased checked baggage for my flight, so that is not an issue.
Whether or not I want to use them is not up for debate, so please simply chime in with equipment recommendations!! Thanks guys!

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
Once you find which ones you want, check Campmor.com . They give 20% off of one item. Not sure about shipping to Ontario.
Just an idea.