• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

USD Money Exchange

Hello All!

We are leaving in two weeks for St. Jean. Wanted to see what others were doing in order to prepare their money...

Rates are high here in USA to exchange before we leave and out bank charges 3.5% plus $5 per transaction. Any ideas to get a better exchange rate?

All the best!
Mandy

Ideal sleeping bag liner whether we want to add a thermal plus to our bag, or if we want to use it alone to sleep in shelters or hostels. Thanks to its mummy shape, it adapts perfectly to our body.

€46,-
Hi Mandy, I have been traveling for several years now and have used nothing but ATMs. I find this to be the most practical for me. Especially on the Camino, it is usually not a problem, and you'll learn some banks may charge and other don't. I simply find an ATM in the airport/train station/nearby when I arrive and even buy a little something to make change for bus if needed. I would add to make sure to have money over the weekends by taking money out on Friday during bank hours. This way, if for some reason your card gets "stuck" in the machine, you can get into the bank to retrieve. I know of occasions when other have tried to withdrawal over the weekend and have to wait until Monday morning when the bank opens to get the card back. This goes for holidays as well. I can't stand paying the service fee to my bank for getting my money, but it really does give me a piece of mind and ease. As for exchange rate, I have always found ATM to be the best as well.

Does this help?

Keep a smile,
Simeon