• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Valcarlos route recent experience

Time of past OR future Camino
2022 SJPP-Cruz de Ferro
So I'm a newbie here days into my first camino Frances.
Being unsure of my fitness level I opted for the Valcarlos route, splitting it into two days, SJPP to Valcarlos, VC to Burguete.
The first lap to VC couldn't have been more idyllic. Rolling hillsides,, bucolic country lanes, even an empty casa rural in VC. the map provided by the credential office has a great picture of where you turn off to get the secondary roads.
It was day two, the up over the pass day, that my vigilance kicked into overdirve. One pergrino,s experience.
1. Hunters. they seemed to be everywhere. while I only saw them once I must have heard at least 50 rounds of shots fired. Some so close I started yelling "estoy aqui, estoy aqui caminando). not sure when hunting season begins and ends in france and spain but something to be aware of
2. The isolation. I've read so much about so many pilgrims I didn't expect to feel so alone/isolated in what felt like a very remote area. I obviously made it up and out ok but it was a concern. I only saw 3 other pilgrims who were travelling together. my advice would be travel in pairs, at a minimum have a working cell phone so authorities can be alerted if need be.
3. the road sections. I asked at least 3 locals if the road sections were safe, was told be all yes. Let's just say I felt less than safe on the road sections. I clung to the right where at least there was usually a drainage ditch. while traffic was not heavy there were several large trucks.