• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Via de la Plata in reverse (Gijón to Cádiz)

JP0819

Time of past OR future Camino
2020 - Atlantic Coast to Med Coast
Hi all,

Please excuse any conventions that I may have missed - it's my first time posting on here. I am planning to set off in October (after a month spent in Asturias) from Gijón - Cádiz; tying together a few Camino routes in reverse but primarily the Via de la Plata to Seville before taking the Via Augusta to Cádiz.

I have several questions:
a) Has anyone tried a similar route?
b) Are there any particular challenges with attempting a Camino in reverse?
c) What is the 'best' means of navigation?

I am mindful of the ongoing COVID situation and will continue to monitor the local situation, so while this may not end up being feasible this year I would deeply appreciate any advice or pointers this wonderful community may have.

Abrazos,

Jake

Join our full-service guided tour and let us convert you into a Pampered Pilgrim!
It's not uncommon to meet people following the VDLP in reverse. When I was heading north in October/ November 2017, I remember meeting
- A Dutch mother and daughter
- A German walker
- A German cyclist (solo)
- A Dutch husband and wife
- A French family (mom, dad, two kids) on recumbent bicycles and trailers
- A German man with his dog in a trailer
There are probably others that I've forgotten. The advantages of walking in that direction in October are that you're heading toward a warmer climate (although it will still be cold on the way), and you will meet people who are moving in the opposite direction (albeit only fleetingly).