• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Visas for stays longer than 90 days.

jeffnd

Time of past OR future Camino
March/April 2014
I am in the very early planning stages for my next Camino. I want to walk the Tours route through France and then the Frances through Spain. I want to do this all in one shot.

I completed the Frances from St. Jean to Santiago earlier this year in 35 days. But there were many times I felt rushed and I missed out on seeing and staying in certain places due to my schedule.

As an American, I can enjoy 90 days in the Schengen Area without a visa. And I am relatively certain I could complete the distance in that 90 day period. However, I would also like to visit friends in Europe and not have that rushed feeling like I had during my first pilgrimage.

I am no expert in international travel. But I'm sure that many of you are! So how do I go about being able to stay for longer than 90 days?

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
Sorry, Jeff, no can do. I wanted to do that, too, but there is nothing between no visa (the 90 days) and a full-scale residence visa if you're a US citizen, alas.

I am in the very early planning stages for my next Camino. I want to walk the Tours route through France and then the Frances through Spain. I want to do this all in one shot.

I completed the Frances from St. Jean to Santiago earlier this year in 35 days. But there were many times I felt rushed and I missed out on seeing and staying in certain places due to my schedule.