• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Walking from Porto airport?

LynneR

Time of past OR future Camino
CF '16, '18
I have read about walking from the Porto airport to the central route. I am interested in doing this if it is safe, but I cannot find details about how to get from the airport to the path. If anyone has done this or is familiar with the route, I would love to hear from you. Additionally, especially for those who have done it...what was your impression of this approach versus going into Porto and starting from there. (I will have a couple days in Porto for sightseeing when I am done, so I will be able to see the city then ).
This is my first time on the CP, so I'm not as confident as I am on the CF. All advice is welcome!
Thanks so much!

A selection of Camino Jewellery
I have read about walking from the Porto airport to the central route. I am interested in doing this if it is safe, but I cannot find details about how to get from the airport to the path. If anyone has done this or is familiar with the route, I would love to hear from you. Additionally, especially for those who have done it...what was your impression of this approach versus going into Porto and starting from there. (I will have a couple days in Porto for sightseeing when I am done, so I will be able to see the city then ).
This is my first time on the CP, so I'm not as confident as I am on the CF. All advice is welcome!
Thanks so much!
Haven’t done it but it Looks like a fairly straightforward walk to Zona industrial de Maia and the Central route goes through there. I’m aiming to walk from the airport to join the Coastal route in June. I’ll just keep heading towards the sea! Good luck and buen Camino.