• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Walking in warm weather when not used to it.

Technical backpack for day trips with backpack cover and internal compartment for the hydration bladder. Ideal daypack for excursions where we need a medium capacity backpack. The back with Air Flow System creates large air channels that will keep our back as cool as possible.

€83,-
New Original Camino Gear Designed Especially with The Modern Peregrino In Mind!
I chose October for my first Camino because I'm not good with heat...there was a heatwave with temperatures in the mid 30's. I learnt to wet my whole head at water fountains and yes it dripped all down me! I had a small micro towel (30cm square) which I also soaked then folded up and placed it inside my hat, on the top of my head. The evaporation of the water really helped me tolerate the heat. I also aired my feet and changed my socks when I took a break.
Buen Camino

Any extra tips other than drink water
Don't drink just plain water but add an electrolyte tablet to replace some of the lost salt. It usually has a small amount of sugar as well so keeps your energy up. There are various brands so get whichever is available where you come from. Big cities/large supermarkets in Spain will have them too, or failing that, get dioralyte sachets from the pharmacy but you can make it more dilute.

Start out a little earlier...

Between 1-1.5 hours pre-dawn, whatever time that is.

I learnt to wet my whole head at water fountains and yes it dripped all down me! I had a small micro towel (30cm square) which I also soaked then folded up and placed it inside my hat, on the top of my head.

A good trick! Depending on what hat you uses, can also wet the hat in water, squeeze the excess water out, then it will keep your hat cool.