• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Walking the Northern way.

Kentravyon

Hello!

I am a 20 year old student from Australia doing the Camino del Norte, I was wondering the best place to start for walking 25km per day over a period of 28 days. I'm finding hard to find physical literature on the Camino over here and the information on websites is rather extensive. Some websites say Camino del Norte is 820km starting in Irun or San Sebastian, however the google maps route changed to be similar to the one presented in this forum is about 700km.

I'm basically looking for help in regards to accuracy of websites and where would be the best place to start under my constraints.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

The one from Galicia (the round) and the one from Castilla & Leon. Individually numbered and made by the same people that make the ones you see on your walk.
Hi I would start in either Pobena or Castro Urdiales, they are both after Bilbao in the 650-670 km distance from Santiago. I think the total length is over 830km. Starting from these points would give you the chance to take it easy until you find out at what distance you are comfortable with, and if you get into santiago with a few days to spare then you can always head off to the coast to either Finistera or Muxia