• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Weather in July, Camino Portugues

Eileen Mary

My husband and I are thinking of walking the Camino Portugues next July, taking 8 or 9 days to complete it. We are both early risers, so we would probably start walking early in the morning, hoping to do around 30 km a day. Has anyone walked the CP in July? How hot and humid will it be? (We are used to fairly hot and humid weather since we live in Massachusetts.) Is what we are thinking of doing indeed "do-able"? We would try to walk in the early morning until around noon or so each day. Due to our work schedules, July is the only month we can do the Camino. Thanks...this is my first time posting anything on the Forum. I appreciate so much all of the useful information I have gathered from this site!

St James' Way - Self-guided 4-7 day Walking Packages, Reading to Southampton, 110 kms
Hello welcome to the Forum :)

Weather in July in Portugal, it's the tipical summer weather in here: hot and dry. You could have some lower temperatures in the Nortern part of Portugal/Spain, but it will still be hot. If you say that you are early risers, I don't think that you will have any kind of problem doing the Caminho in July. Just make sure that you buy breakfast when you buy dinner :p

Best Regards
Diogo

Last edited by a moderator:
Hello welcome to the Forum :)

Weather in July in Portugal, it's the tipical summer weather in here: hot and dry. You could have some lower temperatures in the Nortern part of Portugal/Spain, but it will still be hot. If you say that you are early risers, I don't think that you will have any kind of problem doing the Caminho in July. Just make sure that you buy breakfast when you buy dinner :p

Best Regards