• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Weight loss

Jen Juneau

Time of past OR future Camino
Future...leaving Colorado 08/10/2014
What is the average weight loss while walking the Camino? (roughly)

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
?? Cafe Grande con Leche y Pain Y Chocolat, y Cerveza Y Nuts y Vino y mucho Bocadillos, Queso y otras Plato Combinados y CHIPS! Lots of opportunity for snacking, can't walk the distances without the necessary nourishment, did lose a lot of ins from my upper legs? thighs? but weight loss not guaranteed, unless you doing it all very fast and very far...

Boy is that a tough question. I have no experience but as a retired nutritionist/RD I can tell you what factors you need to consider:
how far does a person walk each days - 10 miles/6.2 kms or 25 mi/16 kms
how many calories do they eat - 3 meals and 3 snacks of high fat/calorie food or just a small light breakfast and 2 other meals
what does the person drink - high calorie beverages like regular soda or alcohol or cream and sugar in coffee or water
does the person hold extra water weight from eating lots of sodium or have extra water weight simply from walking long distances daily
The list goes on.
It will be interesting to see what men vs women have to say on this topic.
Buen Camino! I will have an answer when I get home at the end of June.
Stefania

3rd Edition. More content, training & pack guides avoid common mistakes, bed bugs etc