• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

What I have learnt so far - and I haven't even left yet :-)

Just_Me

Time of past OR future Camino
Portugues (April 2019)
Prep and training has commenced in earnest, less than 3 months to go now.
I started training, walking daily with one rest day per week, gradually increasing distance and the load of my backpack. (Disclaimer - I am closing in on 60yrs and what I could do 'no worries' not so long ago seems now like a distant memory). As it is slap bang in the middle of summer here in Australia I leave before the sun comes up - what bliss!

This is a wonderful time to iron out any snags and kinks that creep up, play around with weight distribution in the pack, hand washing and room drying clothes (and quickly work out which ones seemed like a good idea but remained soggy in the morning), foot care, core strengthening exercises, getting into a stretch routine pre and post walk (absolutely vital, IMO).

The advice on so many topics given in this forum is invaluable and has helped my prep enormously. I admit I was a bit 'relaxed' about my attitude to prep and training but once I got going I quickly realised how important it is.

One tip I would like to share on foot care - I have a cream (that my Physio uses) that I usel pre and post walk each day. It has a herbal component as well as Peppermint Oil in the ingredients and leaves the feet feeling refreshed (and smelling very nice too!) It isn't greasy or sticky but moisturises well.
It is called Anti-Flamme (I get it from eBay) and isn't just good for foot care but all aches and pains, strained muscles etc.

Hasta luego y buen Camino!

The focus is on reducing the risk of failure through being well prepared. 2nd ed.