• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

What is the best route for Camino Portuguese?

Ereny Rezekalla

Time of past OR future Camino
Hi I'm going to walk the coastal part of the camino portugues.
Hi,

This is my first time to go on the camino, and I wanted a quiet route to take.

I only have time to walk for 7 nights maximum, what's the best route to take to santiago spain?

Do I go coastal or the main route? Also if you have any resources on alberuges in English this would be great.

Ereny

Technical backpack for day trips with backpack cover and internal compartment for the hydration bladder. Ideal daypack for excursions where we need a medium capacity backpack. The back with Air Flow System creates large air channels that will keep our back as cool as possible.

€83,-
Hi,

This is my first time to go on the camino, and I wanted a quiet route to take.

I only have time to walk for 7 nights maximum, what's the best route to take to santiago spain?

Do I go coastal or the main route? Also if you have any resources on alberuges in English this would be great.

Ereny
My husband and I walked from Santarem to Santiago last June/July 2016. We wrote a blog called ourwayportuguesecaminho.wordpress.com which you may find quite interesting. The Portuguese route is definitely a quiet route. I would suggest you walk from Tui in Spain following John Brierley's suggested routing but spending the first night near Porrino which is about half way. If you walk from Tui to Redondela, the distance is about 34 kilometres, a long way. We thoroughly enjoyed our walk, although it was tough at times. Good Luck!