• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

What is your reason?

Samantha Hussey

Time of past OR future Camino
Camino de Santiago
Hi All,
On the 23rd August I completed my very special camino journey from SJPP to Santiago de Compostela for a number of reasons. During my journey I was intrigued at just how many diverse reasons people had chosen to walk 'The Way"...

As a travel journalist I am always eager to write about my personal experiences, and being humbled at the many special and inspiring stories of why so many people had chosen to give up weeks out of their ordinary lives to walk such a historic trail has gotten me writing about the many types of reasons people choose to do it. I have a few examples and quotes from people whom I met along the way however if anyone else would like to write a short quote or explanation on their own reason however unpersonal or personal you want to be with your name I would be greatly appreciated. It will be featured on my own travel website blog. If you feel like emailing me please do so at samantha@thewanderingwanderluster.com

This is a piece I feel I have to write just because there were so many beautiful stories behind the reasons that need to be shared.

Thanks all! :) Buen Camino as always!

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
Hola, Samantha,

I don't know whether my reason(s) is/are beautiful, interesting, emotional etc. or not because I had forgotten about them years ago. Now I just walk ;)
Wish you a lot more interesting answers from others and good luck with your work!

Ultreia!

St James' Way - Self-guided 4-7 day Walking Packages, Reading to Southampton, 110 kms