• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Where to begin my first Chemin in France?

FlechaCadaDia

Time of past OR future Camino
Camino Frances ('05)
I have done the Camino Frances before. This time I want to begin in France, from one of its four major starting points, and again walk Frances.

Which of the four wold you recommend in May?

Actually, I'm a student, so I have the summer off. I was planning on leaving in May and walking as long as necessary. I was afraid of walking Frances in July for fear of crowds, but I hear that France (le Puy route anyway) is crowded in May.

This will be my first time--I know people say, "If it's your first time in Spain, don't miss out on Frances!" Is the same said of LePuy? If so, is it un-missable enough to warrant dealing with the crowds?

I am feeling confused and a little overwhelmed, and would welcome any help!

If you're pretty familiar with the French routes, live in the US and wouldn't mind a phone call...I'd really appreciate the chance to ask questions---

B

The one from Galicia (the round) and the one from Castilla & Leon. Individually numbered and made by the same people that make the ones you see on your walk.
Yes, the LePuy route is that good.

Relative to the Frances. I would describe it as expensive rather than crowded.

Hi, happy to chat to you on the phone, send me a pm with ,your phone no, Le Puy Route is great and able to be done at a reasonable budget, less crowds than on the Frances... It is wonderful. Warm regards, Gitti

Very light, comfortable and compressible poncho. Specially designed for protection against water for any activity.