• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Where to next? Favourite caminos

MaxHelado

Time of past OR future Camino
Portugués via Variante Espiritual 2022
I walked the Portugués last year (Variante Espiritual) and will walk it again this year. I have fallen in love with the Camino and I am now thinking that I could fit in another walk of 3 to 4 weeks in September or October of this year.

So where next? I would greatly value suggestions and insights.

The Portugués ticked all my boxes which were:
1. Stunning scenery.
2. A good infrastructure. There was always somewhere to stop for coffee or food and somewhere to spend the night.
3. Short(er) distances between towns and villages. I am still relatively new to walking, 69 years old and one of the reasons for walking is to improve my fitness. I am not there yet!
4. Interaction with others. This could be with pilgrims and/or with locals. I speak pretty good Spanish and want lots of opportunities to use it. I have no wish to walk in crowds but nor do I want to spend days walking alone.

Finishing in Santiago is not an imperative but would be a bonus.

Writing this now it seems more obvious to me that I want to lose myself in Spain.

Any ideas would be very much appreciated.

A selection of Camino Jewellery
Yes the CF would be a good choice for infrastructure, but crowded at that time of year. If you want something less crowded maybe start in Salamanca or Zamora and take the Sanabres? Start in Seville and walk to Zamora? Lots of choices.

Hard to say!

I loved the Camino Frances. Lots of history and infrastructure. But I was also blessed that I did it without crowd (COVID). My daughter did it the following year and loved it though - even with the crowds. Still - I do think everyone should do it at least once.