• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

which route

Fedor

Hello,

I am a canadian student who has spent the last year studying in europe, and, now that the academic year nears its end, I am seriously considering doing the Camino pilgrimage in July. My biggest difficulty is deciding which route to take, the prime contenders being the french route and the northern route.

There are basically three reasons why I am considering the northern route:

- I am afraid that the french route is too crowded/popular and thus less authentic.
- I hope that the weather might be less hot up north, closer to the coast.
- I also want to see as much natural beauty as possible (especially mountains!), and it has occurred to me that perhaps the north is better for that.

Of course there are arguments against the northern route as well:

- The northern route has substantially fewer refuges, which means that I will either have to plan my way extremely well, or sleep outside.
- Because the northern route is less popular, there is an even greater need to speak spanish there -- which I do not.
- Perhaps the northern route is so unpopular that I will meet no fellow pilgrims which would be very difficult psychologically.

So, my questions to you, more experienced pilgrims is:

To what degree are these considerations valid, and are there other ones which I should also keep in mind while trying to make this decision? Which rotue would you recommend?

Thank you for your time.

- Fedor

3rd Edition. More content, training & pack guides avoid common mistakes, bed bugs etc
Hi Fedor,

I don't have answers to all your questions, but here are a few observations from Santiago.

Regarding the French Route being crowded.