• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Why I Did Not Use an iPod on the Camino

stevelm1

Past and Future Perigrino
Time of past OR future Camino
CF 2015, CP 2019, Camino Catalan 2023
Before leaving for my first Camino I found that a lot of music made me cry. Mostly when I was watching You Tubes about the Camino but also when I was listening to music while drives and at other completely unexpected times as I was talking about the trail I would start crying. This was weird to say the least, it was perhaps wonderful from another perspective, I guess.

I am a trained engineer by trade, I am a scientist by perspective and that is the perspective I would prefer others to see me by, but I was a compete cry baby when it came to some music, and it was extremely unpredictable.

I could only imagine myself walking down the Camino crying all day while listing to music. For what I would expect are fairly obvious reasons I did not want to be walking and crying all day long.

It is also clever to listen to your surroundings if for no other reason than to be present in the moment.

I am somewhat happy to say that after coming home the unpredictable emotional outbursts almost disappeared (two years out). Interestingly, as I am working up to my next Camino I have noticed it starting up again. I am still not sure why this walk makes me so emotional, but it sure does.

The focus is on reducing the risk of failure through being well prepared. 2nd ed.
Before leaving for my first Camino I found that a lot of music made me cry. Mostly when I was watching You Tubes about the Camino but also when I was listening to music while drives and at other completely unexpected times as I was talking about the trail I would start crying. This was weird to say the least, it was perhaps wonderful from another perspective, I guess.