• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Windmills and Wyoming

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reed

Time of past OR future Camino
October/November 2015
Hello everyone! I am a documentary filmmaker and I am making a film about an amazing human being who will be walking the Camino this coming month. His name is Charlie Hardy and the film is called Charlie vs Goliath...

http://www.charlievsgoliath.com/

I am hoping to film Charlie during 2-3 days of his journey, and I need to decide where exactly. I am looking for a part of the route where there are windmills and where the terrain looks like Wyoming (more desolate and mountainous, less green)...Looking for Don Quixote country! Reading the forums, it seems like the Alto de Perdon could be a good spot, but also the Meseta.

If anyone has any suggestions, I would greatly appreciate it!

New Original Camino Gear Designed Especially with The Modern Peregrino In Mind!
On or nearby the Camino Frances there are many contemporary wind turbines for example along the NA6056 at the Alto de Perdon. However I know of no old fashioned windmill as such on the CF.

Good luck finding your location and happy filming!

Last edited:
@Reed -

1. If you mean the old-fashioned "windmills", then you are out of luck as @mspath notes anywhere on the Camino.

2. Alto de Perdon could be a good stand-in for the area 20 - 30 miles west and NW of Cheyenne. It is about the closest you can come to having walker and windmills in reasonable proximity to each other. Go to Google maps or similar and get the street-eye view stationing yourself at the west side of Pamplona. That should give you a feel.