Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Pending Pelligrino - March 2024

Mcbarry355

Nov 18, 2023
United States
Time of past OR future Camino
March 2024
Hello everyone,

I’ve loved reading everyone’s thoughts on this site and thought I might voice some of my questions here.

I’m planning my journey from Porto to Santiago de Compostela (+/- Finisterre depending on how fast I can move) in early March 2024. I have 16 days for my journey and I have never done anything quite like this before - I admit I am a bit anxious, and hoping for recommendations for just about everything! I will be going a bit early in the Camino season so I am very curious to hear from anyone who has or is planning to journey in March.

A few of my concerns for the moment are:

1) I have celiac disease - how easy is it to find food options along the way that are gluten free

2) Any specific packing recommendations for journeying in March? All packing recommendations are welcome. I am trying to fit most of what I need into a 35 L backpack which feels overly optimistic.

3) I am on a strict budget and hoping to keep this journey as inexpensive as possible. Any tips on ways to save or places to stay would be much appreciated!

Grateful to connect with you all and for any recommendations you may have.

Peace!

New Original Camino Gear Designed Especially with The Modern Peregrino In Mind!
Mar 24, 2023
Germany
Inglès April 2023
Primitivo July 2023
Greetings, and welcome to the forum. Can't help you with 1/ sorry, good luck.

2/ A 35l backpack should be fine, mine is 32. As regards the packing there are many, many packing lists here on the forum, just search and you'll find some excellent suggestions. I suggest you start the search by narrowing it to 'first posts only' and then choose from those that you wish to read further.