• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Train Madrid to Leon

Time of past OR future Camino
Camino Frances Leon to SDC Sept.2024
Hi everyone! First time pilgrim arriving in September 2024. We will be spending the night in Madrid and then plan to take the train to Leon to start our Camino there.
I have no experience with the trains and upon researching I am only finding a single train leaving Madrid/Chamartin at 20:24, arriving in Leon at 22:22.
I had hoped there would be earlier options. Do they add more times as the date gets closer or should I make a different plan based on the time listed here?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can provide.

Ideal sleeping bag liner whether we want to add a thermal plus to our bag, or if we want to use it alone to sleep in shelters or hostels. Thanks to its mummy shape, it adapts perfectly to our body.

€46,-
September is a long way out so it is possible, but the Spanish train system can be complicated to navigate online. Are you looking at the Renfe website? It has a bad reputation but recently I have used it without issues. The other possibility is the bus - Alsa is the biggest company. I would google ´transport Madrid to León and see what comes up. Rome2rio is also a good website to try.

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
St James' Way - Self-guided 4-7 day Walking Packages, Reading to Southampton, 110 kms
Hi everyone! First time pilgrim arriving in September 2024. We will be spending the night in Madrid and then plan to take the train to Leon to start our Camino there.