• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.
This is a mobile optimized page that loads fast, if you want to load the real page, click this text.

Suggestions for Camino del Norte in June?

MarieKa

Time of past OR future Camino
June, 2023
Hello!
Thank you for your exciting forum entries! I (35 y.) am thinking quite spontaneously about hiking part of the Camino de Norte in mid to late June (June 18-27). I would fly to and from Bilbao starting from either Irun or Bilbao and see how far I can get in 10 days.

I like hiking, even several days in a row and in the (high) mountains. But I have no experience with the camino de santiago and really long hikes (> than 6 days). So far, my personal limit has been around 20 km on individual days in the mountains. That's why I was a bit worried about the length of the daily hikes (up to 22-25km), the maybe too "exhausting way" from Irun and the possibly fully booked accommodations. Can you give me any tips or alternatives?

I wonder which route would be better for me Irun - Bilbao or Bilbao towards Oviedo. I really like nature and mountains. I'm not a fan of places getting super crowded or very touristy. Too much intense heat and long hikes in the blazing sun are not really my thing. I also read that in Spain starting from 24.6. the summer holidays are beginning, so I was afraid that I might not be able to find any (cheaper) accommodation (if possible less than 30€/night). Booking accommodation 1-2 days in advance should be fine for me. What are your experiences with hiking on concrete roads on the north route, I would like to avoid lots of roads - if possible...

Despite all my doubts, I'm looking forward to it!
I would appreciate tips and recommendations!

Thank you Marie

Last edited: