• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Deciding between Camino de Madrid and Camino Vasco del Interior

Phillypilgrim

Time of past OR future Camino
C F Sept.(2013) Camino de Madrid & Finisterre/Muxia Sept. (2014)
Finisterre/Muia June (2017).
I would like any thoughts about these two routes which join the CF. I know they will both be challenging for me in two ways; language and how solitary they are. In the future I will try Le Puy and Portuguese, but for now I want something different joining with something familiar for fall 2014. Please respond if you have walked one or preferably both. Thanks very much.

A selection of Camino Jewellery
In September last year I did walk the Madrid, together with my wife. I have no experience on the vasco.
I really enjoyed it. We did not meet any other person except once cyclist. Before I thought it would be a route with quite the same scenario, but I was surprised by the changes. It was beautiful! There is hardly any tarmac. When there was tarmac, I even enjoyed the change ;) Although there are not many people, the nice thing is that the infrastructure is still quite good, enough Albergues and restaurants on the way. Just be aware of castromonte, no restaurant available....:( I was in panic!
I was with my wife, to be just by yourselves would be a challenge to me. The good thing is that it is a good stretch to try the solitude, knowing that after about 12 days you join the frances in Sahagun with loads of other people. For me Sahagun was a shock which I couldn't stand. We took a train to Leon and did the Salvador from there. Not crowded, but we met some people every day.