• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Neda or Pontdeume?

SilverPink

Time of past OR future Camino
13/9/2023
So I’m starting the íngles from Ferrol today, and I know that the most common stage split is Pontdeume/Betanzos/Hospital de Bruma. However I was looking at Stingy Nomad’s stage split and they’ve done Neda/Miño/Presedo. The reason they’ve done this is because they were getting into Ferrol later in the day and so it was best to walk 15km to Neda instead of 29 to Pontdeume.
I want to be sociable and actually see people and so ideally I’d do the more popular Pontdeume split, but I’m only getting into Ferrol at noon-ish. Which means I’d be getting to Pontdeume quite late- planning to stay in public alberges so worried there won’t be any beds left! Thoughts?

The one from Galicia (the round) and the one from Castilla & Leon. Individually numbered and made by the same people that make the ones you see on your walk.
I would savour the time. If you’re not pressured for time ., stop at Neda.
It’s such a ‘curly’ exit from Ferrol .. it still seems you can see Ferrol for a long time.
Nothing to stop you stopping in Pontedeume too. Btw you don’t have to follow any ‘standard ‘ stages. Let it flow.
Decide when you get to Neda

Buen camino

The 9th edition the Lightfoot Guide will let you complete the journey your way.
Mwybe slow down and stay in Farrol? You can chose where you want to land the next day?
A good suggestion but I’ve already booked my flight home so will have to walk some amount today to get to Santiago on time! Does anyone know if the municipal albergue in Pontdeume often fills up quickly?

I would savour the time. If you’re not pressured for time ., stop at Neda.