• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Camino Portuguese alone or with someone

AdkaVajova

Time of past OR future Camino
March 6th - March 31st (Portuguese planned)
Hello,
I would like to ask a question. I would like to do Camino Portuguese in March of 2024 from Lisbon to Compostela but I have never done anything like this before. I am in my early 20s and I am a bit scared to do it by myself. Any tips or suggestions if doing it by myself is okay and how to calm down?

Thank you! 😊

The 2024 Camino guides will be coming out little by little. Here is a collection of the ones that are out so far.
Can’t really help directly as I know nothing about you or your capabilities. But why choose the Camino Portuguese for your first camino? One of the more popular routes like the Camino Frances or Primitivo would be a much simpler way to start. More people, more choices for places to stay and eat and probably slightly better marked.

Can’t really help directly as I know nothing about you or your capabilities. But why choose the Camino Portuguese for your first camino? One of the more popular routes like the Camino Frances or Primitivo would be a much simpler way to start. More people, more choices for places to stay and eat and probably slightly better marked.
The Primitivo is far less popular a route than the Portugues variants which are growing very rapidly. Though the numbers on the stages from Lisbon to Porto are likely to be small as the majority who walk the Portugues choose to start from Porto. Here are this year's figures from the Santiago pilgrim office.

Screenshot_20231227_145330.jpg

Last edited: