• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.
  • Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Leaving in 11 days!!!!

Ms. P

Hello All,

My best friend and I are leaving to walk our first Camino, in 11 days. We leave the states June 12th, and will begin out walk from St Jean on Friday, June 15th, with the intention to make it to Santiago by July 22nd. I have been reading this forum for about 10 months, since I made the decision to walk about 10 months ago, and this is my first post. I am a secondary high school teacher, and also work a second job to support my teaching salary. Most weeks I work between 70-80 hours. I am so looking forward to the time The Way will give me to relax and reflect, and hopefully give me some answers that I feel I really need at this point in my life. I need a time out from my hectic world, to say the least.

With that being said, I am in the stage where the panic is setting in. I love traveling, and have had the pleasure to visit many beautiful countries, but I have never taken a trip of this length and magnitude. Getting my business in order before I leave, and making sure that my most prized possessions (my two dogs) will be well taken care during my absence is pushing my control freak tendencies to the border of obsession compulsion. I have “to do” lists coming out my ears!!!! I am vacillating between extreme excitement, anxiety, panic, and find myself overcome by emotions when I least expect it.