Search 69,459 Camino Questions

March weather & What to pack?

SunnySA

Time of past OR future Camino
Camino Primitivo March 2017
Hello Seasoned Camino Hikers. I'm a newbie on the site and to the Camino. (Apologies if my post is on the incorrect forum).

My daughter and I will be walking the Primitivo starting 15th March 2017. I would be very appreciative of any packing advice you might have for this time of year and recommended links related to this. Coming from sunny South Africa, I'm not sure what to expect weather wise on our walk.

In addition is it necessary to take a tent and mattress? I've read that not all Albergues' are open at this time of year?

Thank you :)

Very light, comfortable and compressible poncho. Specially designed for protection against water for any activity.

Our Atmospheric H30 poncho offers lightness and waterproofness. Easily compressible and made with our Waterproof fabric, its heat-sealed interior seams guarantee its waterproofness. Includes carrying bag.

€60,-
Welcome to the forum @SunnySA. I have not walked the Primitivo so bow to the knowledge of those who have, but from my Norte and Camino Frances experiences I would be concerned about the weather in March. March is still winter in the mountains in Spain and the Primitivo is definitely in the mountains. A tent in snow or heavy cold rain is not my idea of heaven!

Hmmm. My concern too:/ I've read mixed weather reviews. It seems we'll have to be prepared for all weathers:)

Ideal pocket guides for during & after your Camino. Each weighs only 1.4 oz (40g)!
Agree! Hopefully a seasoned Primitivo can give us some good advice etc. :)

If you want to see which albergues will be open, take a look at the Eroski and Gronze sites. For each albergue they show the dates during which they are open.

I would bring rain pants, an umbrella and an Altus raincoat. Also a warm sleeping bag and polar fleece tops.

Last edited by a moderator: