• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Another Camino newbie

Jen Fawkes

Time of past OR future Camino
Walking 2017 August
Hello, another newbie here.
Firstly I have to say thank you to all of you who patiently answer peoples questions. Your site has been so helpful and so respectful of everyone asking questions.
We (hubby and I) will be starting our first Camino Frances next week (10th or 11th) from SJPDP. We have been travelling for several months now and need to have some luggage transferred to the end of the walk. I have heard that there is a service located next to the Camino registration office who can do this for us.
Does anyone have any experience of this or have any other suggestions.

Secondly, I keep hearing how busy the Camino Frances route is this year, but we are now in September, will it still be necessary to book our first night in Roncesvalles? or can we still take a risk that there will be a bed for us oldies!

If anyone else is starting out at the same time it would be lovely to meet up with you.
regards to you all
Jen

New Original Camino Gear Designed Especially with The Modern Peregrino In Mind!
September is one of the busiest months of the year. For peace of mind it would probably be worth booking beds in Roncesvalles in advance - especially if you think that the hordes of sprinting youngsters might get there before you :) Ultreia!

need to have some luggage transferred to the end of the walk. I have heard that there is a service located next to the Camino registration office who can do this for us.