Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Camino Primitivo end of December

SoloHiker

Time of past OR future Camino
December
Hello,
I‘m 34 years old and planning Todo my first solo Camino.
I haven’t walked for a while, I’m usually stuck behind my desk in the office.
But I started training 2 weeks ago walking.
Last weekend I was on a 4 day trip doing 15-20km a day.
I have started cycling 4-6 times a week (20km trips) the last 2 month.
The last 2 months I cycled 1200km to strengthen my weak knee.

I would like to walk the Camino Primitivo end of December.
Due to personal life reasons I have to empty my head soon and get away.
And this would be the perfect timing when I can get away.
It’s probably not the best time but I would prefer to hike a complete Camino with a view.

My plan is to fly to Oviedo Friday 22 December and start Saturday on my Camino.
And fly back latest Saturday 13 January depending on the flights.
That should give me 19 days in total, I’ll probably end up planning a few days to rest on the Camino.
And if not and if I do end up to early in Santiago and my feet and knee still allows me I’ll continue to the Fisterra.

I plan to stay in albergues to save money.
From the reading I assume I’ll probably end up having to rely on supermarkets for food.
Maybe I’ll pick up a lightweight gas cooking set.

Should I be worried about snow or closed albergues?

Would it be wise to take shoe spikes?
If so I’ll have to buy some locally to avoid airplane security.

Any other concerns I should take into account?

A selection of Camino Jewellery
Hi @SoloHiker, I haven't walked the Primitvo yet, but you should definitely be worried about closed albergues. I would plan/check ahead, as the albergues can be far apart on the Primitivo. And yes, snow is also possible (roughly above 600-800m) in December.

Maybe you would like to join our Christmas Camino thread? https://www.caminodesantiago.me/com...2023-pilgrims-gather-here.83483/#post-1187949