• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Bilbao 1st of April?

griff

Time of past OR future Camino
Total beginner
Hi Folks,
I am hoping to walk the Camino Del Norte( my first Camino ) from April 1st (hope thats not an omen!!) and have to fly out of Santiago on 24th of April. Do people think this is possible? I am a fairly fit 55year old . I'm also Irish so the weather doesnt phase me at all !
Any thoughts on this , I'd really appreciate any help.

Griffo

St James' Way - Self-guided 4-7 day Walking Packages, Reading to Southampton, 110 kms
It is normally about 25 stages from Bilbao to Arzua, then another two days into Santiago, so most pilgrims would plan 27 days of walking. Twenty-three days would be a vigorous schedule!

Down bag (90/10 duvet) of 700 fills with 180 g (6.34 ounces) of filling. Mummy-shaped structure, ideal when you are looking for lightness with great heating performance.

€149,-
It is normally about 25 stages from Bilbao to Arzua, then another two days into Santiago, so most pilgrims would plan 27 days of walking. Twenty-three days would be a vigorous schedule![/quote

Thanks Falcon269,
This is the sort of information I am looking for . I might start in Santander

Buen Camino

Griffo

Hola,

I'm with Falcon that it is a stretch to do in 23 days.
An alternative would be to get to Bilbao and take a bus to Santander.
That would give you enough time, and if you arrives early at Santiago, then you could walk to Finisterra.

Take a look at this thread about pacing oneself.
You may want to choose to go slow :)
http://www.caminodesantiago.me/comm...drivers-seat-on-the-camino.24211/#post-186480

Buen Camino
Lettinggo

Hi Lettinggo,