• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Camino Portugués vs Via Podiensis

rgutena

Time of past OR future Camino
Next: Portuguese (Coastal)
Hello All - I am a complete newbie to this forum and a relative newbie to the Camino. Having done a small section on my own in France (Aumont-Aubrac to Conques, on the Via Podiensis / Le Puy route) last year, I am planning to do the Camino Portugués from Santarem either to Coimbra or all the way to SdC. However, I am a bit alarmed by John Brierley's advice that the section between Lisbon and Porto is open for 'seasoned pilgrims with a basic grasp of the Portuguese language'. Does anyone know whether the section from Santarem to Coimbra in Portugal is more difficult than the section from Aumont-Aubrac to Conques in terms of navigation and communication, noting that I don't speak any Portuguese (whereas my French is at the intermediate level) and will only have a phrase book?

Thanks heaps!

€2,-/day will present your project to thousands of visitors each day. All interested in the Camino de Santiago.
If you learn a few basic phrases in Portuguese to communicate politely you will have no problem. Most locals speak excellent English and often French. Everyone is very eager to be helpful to visitors.

I certainly wouldn't worry about the language issue. I am always amazed at the level of English proficiency in Portugal, even cashiers in the supermarket - way different from Spain! And in my experience they would much rather speak in English than your speaking in Spanish. I tried using my little knowledge of Brazilian Portuguese mixed with Spanish but more often than not they preferred English

St James' Way - Self-guided 4-7 day Walking Packages, Reading to Southampton, 110 kms