• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Cycling Shorts: Road or Mountain Biking Type?

rfii

Time of past OR future Camino
Planning
I am new to long distance biking (or any type of biking for that matter) and would like to know whether one should buy mountain biking shorts or road cycling shorts for the Camino Frances. I don't plan to bike an aggressive distance each day and don't care about speed; my main concern is sores/chaffing/annoyances/injuries/etc since I have never biked for so many days. I am a very fit adult male if that makes a difference.

Thanks

Last edited:
The one from Galicia (the round) and the one from Castilla & Leon. Individually numbered and made by the same people that make the ones you see on your walk.
I normally wear mountain bike shorts that have the tights for rd cycling built in. It gives you plenty of pockets with the anti chaffing inside.

Regular road type bike shorts are far more comfortable, they don't flap, they don't get caught on your saddle, they have fewer seams, they are easier to wash and dry. Some people do not like how they look. There have even been threads here telling people how to dress---forget practicality, we have a dress code out there!

If you can, ignore the fashion police, and wear the most comfortable and practical shorts you find. They will probably be some sort of black lycra with a synthetic padding.

The focus is on reducing the risk of failure through being well prepared. 2nd ed.
I am a mountain biker and I never wore road biker pants before my Camino...after a 1,000 km you will be glad you wore padded road biker pants...and I have always said I would never wear padded road biker pants but I am glad I did for my Camino.

Last edited: