• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

First Pilgrimage

deirdre.macleod

My husband and I are planing on walking the Camino de Santiago de Compostela for the first time this summer. We have 2 week in July or Augusts and would love advice on the best time to go, best route, what to bring, ect. WE are complete newbies so we need all the advice we can get.
D. :?:

Very light, comfortable and compressible poncho. Specially designed for protection against water for any activity.

Our Atmospheric H30 poncho offers lightness and waterproofness. Easily compressible and made with our Waterproof fabric, its heat-sealed interior seams guarantee its waterproofness. Includes carrying bag.

€60,-
The Camino Frances is best suited for a first walk, but it will be busy in July and August. In two weeks you can go from Leon to Santiago. A bit shorter is Astorga to Santiago. Just 112 km is Sarria to Santiago.

The infrastructure and assistance on the Camino Frances is better established than the other less-traveled routes. If you are comfortable in Spanish and don't need fellow pilgrims for assistance, Oviedo to Santiago would be quieter until you get to the last 100 km.

Buen camino!

deirdre.macleod said:
My husband and I are planing on walking the Camino de Santiago de Compostela for the first time this summer. We have 2 week in July or Augusts and would love advice on the best time to go, best route, what to bring, ect. WE are complete newbies so we need all the advice we can get.
D. :?:

Deirdre,

Welcome to the Forum!