Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Going Primitivo and gluten free

RebaWeber

Time of past OR future Camino
2015 or 2016
Hello everybody, I am just starting out researching and I am really drawn to the Primitivo route. Partly because it is the oldest, and partly because I am a Celt, and visiting the city of Lugo seems appropriate :)

I have celiac/coeliac disease so cannot eat or drink gluten in any form. I also have other food intolerances, such as all other grains, and I can't eat legumes. I know this may seriously limit my options at bars and albergues, but how about shopping in local markets? I'm thinking of travelling in the autumn 2015, or possibly 2016 depending how long it takes me to save up enough money. I have seen threads about gluten free options along all the other routes, but so far have found no information along the Primitivo.

If I bring a backpacker stove can I find stove fuel somewhere in Asturias (where I plan to land) or in Oviedo? Can I cook my own food along the way if I need to? Do the albergues have kitchens, should I bring my cooking pots? Will I be able to camp out with a tent, or rough it anywhere along the route? I know the albergues are smaller along this route, and further between in some stages. I'm concerned about carrying a lot of weight of course, but I will most definitely need to carry a lot of my own food. Plus, I will most likely be travelling solo. I'm used to roughing it though, I've been back country camping a fair bit. I'm Canadian, I can take it! :D

I may only have 2 weeks to do this, so I'm really hoping I can get it done! I'm pretty sure I can do 25km every day, but only if I have food! ;) It'll be a challenge, but that's the whole point isn't it?

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
Hi RabaWeber,