• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Hello! Newbie here!

magnet77

Time of past OR future Camino
Camino Ingles 2024
Hello everyone! My name is Maggie, I'm from Monterey, California, USA. I'll be walking my first Camino, the Camino Inglés, starting on 21 May 2024, along with my husband, and my 75 year-old mother. My husband and I are not new to long-distance trails, having previously walked the Rota Vicentina in Portugal, the John Muir way in Scotland, and the South Island section of the Te Araroa trek in New Zealand. My mother was inspired by our travels, and has always wanted to visit Spain, so this year we're taking her with us to experience the Camino.

3rd Edition. More content, training & pack guides avoid common mistakes, bed bugs etc
Hi Maggie
You're going to have a blast! Our family has walked with my father-in-law (the kids' Grandpa) a few times, most recently as he was approaching 90. These are very special memories now that his mobility has suddenly diminished in the last two years. But he will be my biggest supporter cheering from the sidelines, commenting on the blog, as I head out for a solo camino in a month!
One thing we found to be important was to surreptitiously let Grandpa set the pace. Of course, it never mattered how far ahead of us he got, he still always complained that we walked too fast lol

Hi Maggie
You're going to have a blast! Our family has walked with my father-in-law (the kids' Grandpa) a few times, most recently as he was approaching 90. These are very special memories now that his mobility has suddenly diminished in the last two years. But he will be my biggest supporter cheering from the sidelines, commenting on the blog, as I head out for a solo camino in a month!