• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

How does our plan sound?

tropipack

Time of past OR future Camino
September 2024
I regret to report that I can't really help you!
In 2022 we decided to walk the "official" route and did not walk through Cambados. We (of course) got our Compostelas.
Last year we walked it again and this time we walked through Cambados, where we stayed, and then on to Vilanova but we did not claim our Compostelas as we felt no need to do so.
We loved Cambados. It is very worthwhile to make the effort to go there. And I believe that provided you have walked the last 100k you should qualify for a Compostela. But I have no hard evidence or experience to support that view. I can tell you that the hotels and bars in Cambados are happy to provide you with stamps for your Credencia. They certainly seem to think that you are walking the road to Santiago.
Moderator note: this post was moved from another thread to create a new thread

My group is not interested in doing 8 hr walks. We really want to try to do 4-5 hrs and then enjoy the small towns, local food and wine! I would love to get my Compostelas, but honestly, no piece of paper can validate my experience I will receive on the trip, so although it would be nice, if they refuse to do it in Santiago, so be it.

Any good tips you got? Our plan at the moment is this.
Starting in Tui.
Day 1 - Tui to O Porriño
Day 2 - O Porriño to Redondela
Day 3 - Redondela to Pontevedra
Day 4 - Pontevedra to Combarro
Day 5 - Combarro to Armenteira(or Vilar)
Day 6 - Armenteira(or Vilar) to Cambados
Day 7 - Cambados to Vilanova de Arousa
Day 8 - Vilanova de Arousa to Padron
Day 9 - Padron to Rúa de Francos
Day 10 - Rúa de Francos to Compostela