• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

ISO a name of a book mentioned in the past

I'm a newbie and a mother of five children ages 10-2...I wanted to run away from home and walk the Camino and my oldest three have begged me to come (oye oye oye)...

Looking at going in April 2011, would love to go in 2010 but fear the Holy Year rush with little ones in tow.

Due to the children I never get a good length of time to search, but several months ago I saw mention of a book...I know it must have been big by standards to others since that seemed to be it's main complaint. It was mentioned as a GREAT book for visiting the cathedrals, noting the art work and the cultural experience. If I am not mistaken it seemed to be out of print and expensive (I've saved my pennies). I am not totally certain but I think it had two authors.

Does anyone know what book I am referring to.
I want it under my tree and have spent hours here tonight trying to find what book it is.

Thank you,
Lotti

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
I think the one you are remembering is Gilitz and Davidson
GITLITZ, David M., and DAVIDSON, Linda Kay. The pilgrim road to Santiago: the complete cultural handbook.
- New York: St Martin's Griffin, 2000.
- 440 pp.
[Exactly what its sub-title says]

Other books that may be of interest
JACOBS, Michael. The road to Santiago de Compostela.
- London: Viking, 1991.
- 147 pp.
- (Architectural Guides for Travellers.)
STARKIE, Walter. The road to Santiago: pilgrims of St James.
- London: John Murray, 1957. [reissued by John Murray, 2003]
- 324 pp.
[A classic early account of the pilgrimage and the author's journey from Arles, with his fiddle]
MULLINS, Edwin. The pilgrimage to Santiago.