• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

May 2013 - big change in my life

TricieSue

Time of past OR future Camino
wanted to April start but now late Aug-Sept 2013 start
I have gone through some major changes in my life.
I have wanted to walk the Camino for many years - I had the "want"
but it finally seems I have the spiritual reason ... it just "feels right" now

Part of what I've been through is an illness that I have dealt with and now I have lost 70lbs so far
Giving myself 6 months to continue this and training in walking

in preparation I am studying Spanish (ok I needed this to complete my degree as an adult - woo hoo)

I know when people lose a lot of weight - it can be a pressure on their heart - so I want to walk very slow - or at least with shorter distances
in addition, I love photography and would enjoy the time to stop and just soak it all in

I'm thinking of less than 10km per day (3 hours of walking?)

I am open to ALL tips and recommendations

I actually was considering biking for a portion ... then walking from Sarria into Santiago ...
thoughts on that?

Join our full-service guided tour and let us convert you into a Pampered Pilgrim!
Hi TricieSue!

Enjoy your prep! Knowing some Spanish will make a huge, positive difference to your experience. It's amazing how doors open sometimes.

If you have any health concerns have a chat with your doctor before you go, but remember that people of various ages and levels of fitness walk the Camino each year, and although there are some steep climbs from time to time you won't get altitude sickness or anything. I think most people would comfortably do 10km in 3 hours or so, especially once you get into your swing.