• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Panniers: Roll Top versus Regular Capacity Calculation

rfii

Time of past OR future Camino
Planning
I am a total newb for bike gear. I see there are roll top and zip top panniers. People say that you can get more space in the roll top panniers by simply not rolling them up, but obviously that's less practical if you don't want your stuff to fall out. So my question is whether the capacity for roll top panniers is calculated with it rolled up or with an open top. In other words, if I get a 45L roll top pannier is that actually less space than a 45L zip top pannier?

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
Maybe you want to consider something way smaller.

I did the via Francigena in 2014 with a front handlebar bag and two deuter uni 19 liters pannier (total weight around 8-10 kg. It really makes the bike very rear heavy should the bike is on a trail.

This year I did the Mozarabe with my backpack. I was walking the Camino Interior before that. Much better balance overall. Naturally if I had not been walking and planning a bike only Camino I would have it on a small rear pack like this ultralight biking site has recommended.

http://ultralightcycling.blogspot.com/

Even on the Mozarabe I saw a biker on the Camino with just the handlebar bag and a portable rear rack with a small bag. The rear bag only carries his sleeping bag which he would have to use if he is staying in a hostal instead of albergue. The front bag all his small items, electronics, etc. Hydration on the two bottles on the bike. And his carries a 20 liter backpack that only has his evening clothes (very light). He wash his cycling wear every evening and dried in the morning. I was really impressed.