• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Starting in Cahors

gyoungwoman

I am currently living in the South West of France and would like to start my journey in Cahors as it is close and might work better with my budget.

Can anyone give me an idea of how long this might take? I have also read that Le Puy Route is more expensive. How much per day should I save for? What is the best way to plan lodgings?

I am very new to this and appreciate any advice you might have.

Join our full-service guided tour and let us convert you into a Pampered Pilgrim!
If you comb through this part of the forum you'll find most matters dealt with, and many recommendations for accommodation. There's so much here I won't try to condense, but I will say that an up-to-date Miam Miam Dodo guide can't go amiss.

The main thing is...it's going to be great!

Bon chemin

Rob

There are many sites where you can calculate how many days it takes but do take in consideration: every 5-6 days you must have a zero day. I think it's 400 km to St Jean.
25 average a day=16 walking days
3 zero days- total of 20 days at least.

How much will it cost: gite a night 8-10 Euros at least, If you buy and cook your food=12 per day.
Don't forget-coffee and beer with your friends after a day's walk and cold drinks now and then.
I would say- 25 per day at least.

Very light, comfortable and compressible poncho. Specially designed for protection against water for any activity.

Our Atmospheric H30 poncho offers lightness and waterproofness. Easily compressible and made with our Waterproof fabric, its heat-sealed interior seams guarantee its waterproofness. Includes carrying bag.

€60,-