• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Bicycles and walkers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marbe2

Time of past OR future Camino
2015-2023 walked all or part of CF 11 times
I believe that walkers and cyclists should be able to coexist on trails if folks use common sense and the trails are wide enough. Many cyclists passed us on the trails this spring without incidence... Sometimes with no audible warning. I have been sharing mountain bike trails for many years and am used to bikes ringing as they come through. However, when the trails are quite narrow (about 1 meter wide), and very close to the highways - such as near Salceda - it might be safer for everyone if the bikes road on N547! There were several bikes which went through at least 20 hikers at close range on a narrow path! It was dangerous. The cars were coming rather fast on the highway. We walkers all parted like the Red Sea, so the bikers would not have to get off their bikes and be inconvenienced. I will not yield in such a situation again! The bikers either need to get on the highway or wait till the pathway widens and then ride, or walk their bikes through...

€2,-/day will present your project to thousands of visitors each day. All interested in the Camino de Santiago.
I believe that walkers and cyclists should be able to coexist on trails if folks use common sense and the trails are wide enough.

I underlined and bolded your comment. Both are sometimes in short supply.........

Always a topic that is hotly debated........ Personally I don't believe bikes should share trails with walkers. Many sections are narrow footpaths.