brief preperation questions

janehope

Sep 1, 2012
Time of past OR future Camino
i plan on walking the camino very last week of september trough early/mid november
i am planning on starting the Camino in st jean at the very end of September this year, and am giving myself 45-50 days as a time frame hoping to me done by 2nd week of November. i have never done anything like this before, but feel ready to do so at this point in my life. any helpful tips would be gratefully appreciated. i am planning on doing it alone, i am a woman in her early 20's, i haven't prepared physically and am not extremely athletic , but i am healthy and young. is my time frame appropriate ? and how will late Sept, Oct, and early November be in regards to climate? is accommodation something that should be planned out ahead of time? and how strenuous and safe is the journey to be making alone in the autumn ? thanks ever so much for any replies and buen Camino !

3rd Edition. More content, training & pack guides avoid common mistakes, bed bugs etc
Hola - welcome to the forum. Your questions:

1 With 45 - 50 days you have plenty of time. In all probability you will reach Santiago in under 40 days (or less :)) giving you the option of walking on to Finisterre/Muxia if you wish. With this timescale you may also wish to linger in cities or other places along the way.

2 The common advice would be to do at least some training/practice before setting out - walk with the shoes or boots you will use and with your rucksack packed focussing on trying to get it as light as possible. Walk at your own pace for distances with which you are comfortable - your stamina will quickly grow.

3 On the Camino Frances you won't be alone for long. Setting out from St Jean at the end of September there will be plenty of other pilgrims on the way.