Canadian Peregrina

AdventureBecca

Sep 13, 2016
Canada
Time of past OR future Camino
Camino Frances + Finisterre (July-August 2015)
Portuguese Coastal Camino + Finisterre/Muxia (July-August 2016)
Hi everyone!

I'm new to the Camino forum, and I just wanted to say hi!

I did my first Camino in July and August, from StJPdP to Finisterre. I met the most amazing people, and it was truly the experience of a lifetime. I definitely caught the Camino bug!

At the end of my Camino, I told everyone I would never walk another Camino again. Mainly because I was afraid no other Camino experience could live up to the first one... I lasted about 6 months before I decided I would be doing another Camino the next summer. So in July 2016, I set off to do the Portuguese Coastal Camino. I started in Porto, followed the coast as far as I could on the way up to Santiago, then made my way back out to Finisterre and Muxia. I hadn't made it up to Muxia the first time, so I was definitely looking forward to it this time, and it did not disappoint! Muxia may very well be my favourite part of my second Camino. (I have no immediate plans to walk another Camino, but I VERY much doubt this will be my last!)

I spent the year between my 2 Caminos carefully creating a massive (embarrassingly so, but I'd do it again in a heartbeat!) scrapbook out of the thousands of photos I took along the way. I told all my friends I wanted to be able to read my scrapbook when I'm 90 and remember every detail.

In that same "between Caminos" period, I also started a Camino blog to offer advice to other pilgrims, build my own little Camino community, and share my Camino musing with anyone interested. My boyfriend (a fellow pilgrim who I met at the beginning of my first Camino) suggested that I might want to look around and find some existing Camino communities to connect with and make new Camino friends... so here I am!

Buen Camino everyone! :)