• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.
  • Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Final stages planning Camino

Thommy T

Time of past OR future Camino
My dream is to walk the Camino this summer
Hello everyone,

My name is Thommy and I am a 20 year old student from The Netherlands. 2 Months ago I heard of the Camino and became really fascinated, so I took an extra job and saved up the money to walk the Camino this July. I already bought the gear only I have one issue left, my planning is as following:

30th July > arriving at Sint Jean Pied De Port
1 July > start walking the Camino de Santiago
31th July > arriving in Santiago de Compostela
1-3 August > Staying in Santiago
4th > Flight home.

So effectively I will have 31 days to walk the Camino.
I excercise 2-3 times a week (mainly squash and sometimes fitness) and got a healthy weight. The thing is I am not an experienced walker and have never walked long distances.
I really need to stick to these dates because I have to be back in the Netherlands on the 4th. Will I make this?

Thanks in advance!

Very light, comfortable and compressible poncho. Specially designed for protection against water for any activity.

Our Atmospheric H30 poncho offers lightness and waterproofness. Easily compressible and made with our Waterproof fabric, its heat-sealed interior seams guarantee its waterproofness. Includes carrying bag.

€60,-
The first edition came out in 2003 and has become the go-to-guide for many pilgrims over the years. It is shipping with a Pilgrim Passport (Credential) from the cathedral in Santiago de Compostela.